What Simba and I have in Common

“Remember who you are…” 

If you weren’t deprived of Disney classics as a child (or adult) then you probably read this quote in Mufasa’s booming, spirit voice. So when I think to myself, “remember who you are,” I want to cringe at the dramatic image that arises in my mind. 

Disney movies or not, remembering who I am is something that’s become significant in not my spiritual, emotional, or physical walk…But my life walk all in all. 

I think it’s important we remember who the heck we are, and of course, I will tell you that who I am is found in Jesus.

What on earth does that even mean? 

It means that I was bought at a very, very high price.

It means someone loved me so damn much, they died for me in spite of rebelling against this same someone day in and day out. 

It means that I am beautiful because a Savior declares my worth as infinite. 

It means that I am loved at my darkest.

I’d like to think that this is a pretty good identity: I am a part of our God in Heaven’s family. I am His beloved daughter.

Why does this matter, though? Why is this important to remember?

We all have dark thoughts. We all have lonely days. We all have sad or complicated emotions. In these thoughts, these days, and these emotions, we can run wild in our minds or actions. Some people become angry, while others can’t even seem to leave the house or pick up a phone call. Some become hateful and envious, taking these negatives out on those around them, while other people may just let the tears run down their faces for hours in a day.

For me, however, I grow anxious and despaired. It gets very, very complicated in my case. With anxiety comes stress and a complete lack of sleep; with despair comes insecurity and doubt in not only myself but my trust in others as well. Let me explain further, getting down to some specifics…

I have a strong need for attention. I don’t mean the sort of attention from a room of people, though that ain’t half bad for your girl’s esteem…

I’m referring to the attention from a specific friend or family member. If you commit a period of time to me in a week, it means more than you could ever know. Some say that time is a love language, while others would just describe me as needy: both summaries are probably accurate. 

I’ve had plenty of family members, and friends, decide that it’s totally fine to go weeks or even months without reaching out to me in a genuine way. When this occurs in a relationship, it breaks my heart and I end up assuming the whole world is crashing in on me. Dramatic? Yes. Entertaining as a Disney cartoon? Probably not. 

But for someone as emotional as me, what do I do to cope? Do I freak the hell out and try explaining my hurts to someone every time they don’t do “enough” for me? If that were the real answer, I don’t think I’d have any friends left.

I maintain a couple of things, instead:

  1. I keep in mind that people are busy. Not everyone can commit a phone call a week or a few hangouts a month. Some people don’t find these things to be essential to their relationships, and I have got to give them the benefit of the doubt instead of taking everything out on someone just because they don’t speak the same “love” language, as me.
  2. On the other hand, I have to remember that some people really just aren’t the best in relationships and don’t know how to love or communicate with others in a genuine and loving way. With those people, I learn to have zero expectations and then move on by putting up safe boundaries that keep me from being further hurt.
  3. Lastly, but most importantly, I (you guessed it!) remember who I am. How someone communicates with or loves me does not define my worth. I am no less beautiful or loved when someone cuts me out, yells at me, or cuts me down. Why is that? Because Jesus provides all of the love I could ever need. You, no one, could ever give me something that Christ has not already provided. The number one important thing that He has blessed me with is: identity. 

Back to Disney…

As Mufasa fades away and Simba, panicking, runs after him, he repeats himself over and over again: “Remember!” 

I imagine myself, like Simba, panicking in the midst of confusion, rejection, and pain. Like Mufasa, the Lord tells me to remember who I am. But unlike Mufasa, he doesn’t fade away after a violent death by the claws of his brother and the hooves of wildebeest. Unlike Mufasa, God stays consistent in presence, never to leave me alone in the dark. 

Consider who you are: what makes you, you? What gives you worth? What gives you the right to have confidence or to have any sort of standard for yourself? For me, it’s Christ. With Him, I remember who I am and I am a daughter of the One True King. 

The even more incredible thing about this identity is that: even on the days when I forget, He remains the same. 

A constant identity…Pretty neat, huh?

 

-Mal

Leave a comment